Tourism

Abreschviller

Nature as a gift

Set in the heart of the Vosges forests, at the foot of the second largest forest massif in France, Abreschviller plunges the visitor into the mystery of a mirror with two worlds, the first, wooded and mythical of Mount Donon and the second, more musical of the Red Saar, which crosses this region of Barrès, Erckmann-Chatrian and many others, less well-known but all under the  charm that made the bards resolute.

To discover Abreschviller, is to project yourself into a universe where nature, omnipresent, reveals its secrets to those who knows how to look, smell and taste as much as they want: small fairy paths, dew-beads, flavours of mushrooms served in the welcoming restaurants of the valley, or more popular entertainment with a train ride or even, the colorful show of the famous hill climb, which, once a year only, awakes the forest hosts.

Rich in the history that made it revive after the 30 years’ War, Abreschviller keeps a spirit of tolerance and respect for the passing tourist, who always comes back to those hospitable lands where the soul of l’Ami Fritz still remains around the legendary rocks of the Calice, the Basse-Frentz, the Devil or the Belle Roche,in passing by the cave of Saint-Leon or the birthplace of Chatrian in Grand-Soldat. Without forgetting the inumerable sightseeing opportunities that we promise you will discover…

You are welcome !

The key of the Donon

Situated in 310 m altitude on the western slopes of the Vosges, at the foot of the forest massif of Donon, Abreschviller is a privileged holiday location in a beautiful setting wich, offers to the tourist both calm and exciting natural activities :

The village has a campsite and a lake for swimming (near the tourist railway station), playgrounds, fishing (rivers and fish farm), and a large network with waymarked by the Club Vosgien, from circular walkways of half an hour to two hours, to long hike towards Dabo, the Donon, the Hengst and the main crest of the Vosges, the G.R.5.

In the immediate surroundings, the signposted and maintained paths allow you to reach many rocks, with views of the valleys and rounded ridges of the Vosges, covered by immense fir forests.

Within a radius of about 30 km, you can visit many remarkable sites :

  • Walscheid and its cave,
  • St-Quirin classified as one of the most beautiful villages in France,
  • Dabo and its Rock St-Léon, the funicular boat lift of St-Louis-Arzviller,
  • Saverne and its castles,
  • The Zorn valley,
  • The Lutzelbourg castle,
  • Phalsbourg and its fortifications,
  • Sarrebourg with its museum and a stained-glass window by Chagall,
  • The land of Lorraine lakes ,
  • The Donon with its pagan temple at 1008 m altitude,
  • And the wildlife park of St-Croix in Rhodes.

Tourisme

Abreschviller

La nature en cadeau

Posée au cœur des forêts des Vosges, au pied du deuxième massif forestier de France, Abreschviller plonge le visiteur dans le mystère d’un miroir à deux sources : la première, sylvestre et mythique du Mont Donon, et la seconde, plus chantante, de la Sarre Rouge qui traverse cette contrée dont Barrès, Erckmann-Chatrian et tant d’autres, plus anonymes mais tout autant sous le charme, se sont fait les chantres résolus.

Découvrir Abreschviller, c’est se projeter dans un univers où la nature, omniprésente, révèle ses secrets à qui sait regarder, humer et goûter à l’envie : petits sentiers de fées, perles de rosée, saveurs de champignons servis jusqu’aux accueillantes auberges de la vallée, ou distractions plus populaires avec une balade en train ou encore, le spectacle haut en couleur de la célèbre course de côte qui, une fois l’an seulement, réveille les hôtes de la forêt.

Riche d’un passé qui la fit revivre après la guerre de Trente Ans, Abreschviller conserve un esprit de tolérance et de respect entourant de prévenance le touriste de passage, qui bien souvent revenu de tout, revient sur ces terres hospitalières où l’âme de l’Ami Fritz perdure alentour, des légendaires rochers du calice, de la Basse-Frentz, du Diable ou de la Belle Roche, en passant par la Grotte St Léon, la maison natale de Chatrian à Grand Soldat. Sans oublier les innombrables promesses touristiques que vous découvrirez…

Soyez les bienvenus

La clef du Donon

Situé à 310 m d’altitude sur le versant ouest des Vosges, au pied du massif forestier du Donon, Abreschviller lieu de villégiature privilégié dans un beau cadre, offre au touriste toute la palette des activités calmes et vivifiantes de la nature :

Le village dispose d’un terrain de camping et d’un plan d’eau pour les baignades ( près de la gare du chemin de fer touristique), d’aires de jeux, possibilité de pêche (rivière et pisciculture), et d’un très dense réseau de sentiers balisés par le Club Vosgien, allant de la promenade circulaire ½ heure à 2 heures, à la grande randonnée vers le Dabo, le Donon, le Hengst et la crête principale des Vosges, le G.R 5.

Dans l’environnement immédiat, les sentiers balisés et entretenus permettent d’atteindre de nombreux rochers, offrant des vues sur les vallons et les croupes arrondies des Vosges, couvertes par d’immenses forêts de sapin.

Dans un rayon d’environ 30 km, vous pouvez visiter de nombreux sites remarquables :

  • Walscheid et sa grotte,
  • St-Quirin classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France,
  • Dabo et le Rocher St-Léon, le plan incliné de St-Louis-Arzviller,
  • Saverne et ses châteaux,
  • la vallée de la Zorn,
  • le château de Lutzelbourg,
  • Phalsbourg et ses fortifications,
  • Sarrebourg avec son musée et un vitrail de Chagall,
  • le pays des étangs lorrains,
  • le Donon avec son temple païen à 1008 m d’altitude
  • et le parc animalier de Sainte-Croix à Rhodes.